The Magical Piñata

The Magical Piñata

Book and lyrics by Karen Zacarías, music by Deborah Wicks La Puma

January 24, 2020 – February 15, 2020

Recommended for ages 5-8

 

A seemingly plain clay pot magically transports Cucha, a selfish and lonely girl, from her hometown of Zapoteco, Mexico, to a mysterious jungle filled with eccentric characters. Using her knowledge of both English and Spanish, Cucha encounters Parrot Rivera, a jungle muralist who paints the future; Señor Chapulin, a soccer star with the heart of the present; and Burro Burrito, a farmer who plows through the past. Meanwhile, the evil Monkey King and his silly sidekick know the clay pot is really a magical piñata and scheme to steal it from Cucha. Through Cucha’s journey, she discovers the magic of the mundane, the roots of cultural pride, and the power of sharing.

Please see our Tickets page for information about season tickets for the 2019 – 2020 season.

 

 

December 2019
Sat Dec 21
Sun Dec 22
Mon Dec 23
Tue Dec 24
Wed Dec 25
Thu Dec 26
Fri Dec 27
Sat Dec 28
Sun Dec 29
Mon Dec 30
Tue Dec 31
Wed Jan 1
Thu Jan 2
Fri Jan 3
Sat Jan 4
Sun Jan 5
Mon Jan 6
Tue Jan 7
Wed Jan 8
Thu Jan 9
Fri Jan 10
Sat Jan 11
Sun Jan 12
Mon Jan 13
Tue Jan 14
Wed Jan 15
Thu Jan 16
Fri Jan 17
Sat Jan 18
Sun Jan 19
Mon Jan 20
Event Details